The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins [Book Review]

the-girl-on-the-train

This is a psychological thriller about Rachel, who takes the same train every morning.When the trains stops at the same signal each day she observes the same couple breakfasting in their garden each morning. She loves to imagine their perfect life-until one day she sees something shocking. She offers her knowledge to the police and becomes entwined in the events that follow.

The characters were definitely one of my favourite things about this book – there is an alcoholic, a cheat and no-one seems trustworthy or likeable! These characters gave a good edge to the book and made things feel more realistic.

We hear from multiple perspectives through the novel, which is something I have always enjoyed, and it does start to build up a bit of mystery and tension as we start getting little glimpses of the lives of different characters.

I read this book over a couple of days, I was quite gripped but didn’t feel the need to whiz through in one sitting. I also did not find the ending particularly surprising – I had worked it out already but, even knowing this, I still found it to be a gripping and dramatic climax.

I think my expectations of this book were very high after hearing so much about it, and it is often very difficult to have these expectations met. Being honest, they weren’t met but I still very much enjoyed ‘The Girl on the Train’, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a thriller. It’s not one of my favourites, but I’m glad I picked it up!

4starrating

One thought on “The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins [Book Review]

Leave a Reply

