Favourite books of 2015

Here are my top 10 reads from 2015

10. The Cellar – Natasha Preston

cellar

This book kept me hooked and I whizzed through it in about 24 hours! It was very interesting to see the thoughts of the women who have been abducted and held hostage, and the guy who is keeping them. This book gives you an intense look into a twisted mind, explores the feelings of those who have been captured and also the anguish of the families of the missing. A highly recommended read!

9. Illustrated Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone – J K Rowling

tumblr_inline_nltsi2O9CP1s4yn6u_500

This particular edition of Harry Potter made it into my list because of its sheer beauty! I absolutely loved every single illustration within and  I felt like it gave me a “new read” of a book that I have picked up many times before!

8. Horrorstor – Grady Hendrix

13129925

This book has the layout of an IKEA catalogue, and is essentially about a haunted  furniture store. I felt that this book was extremely unique, and the physical presentation of the book helped me really appreciate the book. I also read this at the time we were buying IKEA furniture for our re-decorated bedroom, which I found quite amusing! I didn’t predict the end of this book at all – and I think it one I will be happy to re-read in the future.

7. Dance with Dragons part 1 &2 – George R R Martin

13337716

If you have been following my blog or You Tube channel for a while, then you may know that I am a huge fan of the Song of Ice and Fire series. In 2015 I finished the (so far released) books in the series. I loved them! I am very much looking forward to the next one being released!

6. Midnight Crossroad – Charlaine Harris

download

This is Harris’s most recent series and it combines mystery and supernatural elements. I adore her writing and story building and thoroughly enjoyed getting stuck into a new book! There is also a character (Bobo) who appears in a previous series, which I found to be very exciting!

5. Drowning Instinct – Ilsa J Bick

17279707._UY200_

This book is about a student/teacher relationship (I really enjoy books around this topic for some reasons – there’s another one in this list as well!) The thing I loved about this book is the bit I can’t really talk about – the ending!

4. Reasons to Stay Alive – Matt Haig

71pV9PPv-ML

I have a full review of this book already (which you can read here) This book depicts anxiety and depression really well, and I found it very easy to relate to. After sharing my review I also had some friends and family thank me for sharing the book as they also found it helpful.

3. Me and Mr J – Rachel McIntyre 

memrj

This is probably one of the best student/teacher relationship books I have ever read – although saying that it focuses on so much more than just that. The relationship she builds with her teacher is a bit of an outlet for some horrendous bullying and troubling home life, which is something she does eventually figure out for herself. Excellent YA novel that I will return to again in the future.

2.  Do not Disturb – A R Torre

donotdisturb

This is the sequel to ‘The Girl in 6E’ which I read in 2014. These books focus on Deanna, a woman who is driven by an intense need to kill. In an effort to keep people safe, she has isolated herself in her apartment – earning money as a web cam girl, getting everything she needs delivered and having her neighbour lock her door from the outside each night. In the first book i was pretty shocked by the graphic descriptions of her murderous thoughts, but (and I know this sounds bad), I was more used to it by this sequel. In fact, it almost seemed to be less important, Deanna is beginning to control her impulses somewhat and I very much liked seeing how her character has developed over the last 2 books. I am very much looking forward to future books in this series!

You- Caroline Kepnes

20821614

So this is my top favourite read of the year. Interesting fact – I finished this book sitting in Tesco car park! I had popped in to grab lunch and a drink, when I thought I’d read a few pages while having my drink, and I basically ended up sitting there glued to the book!

I love psychological thrillers at the moment, and this one was so unique being from the perspective of the stalker. In fact, while reading it I stopped finding his actions so shocking. Logically I knew what he was doing was horrendous, but I got so drawn into his mind I really did get used to it. This freaked me out more than a little bit!

I believe this is in fact going to be a series (or maybe a trilogy?!) and I will be back to read the next ones as soon as they are out!!

***

Thank you for reading! What have your favourite books been in 2015?

 

Leave a Reply

