Unclean Jobs for Women and Girls: Alissa Nutting [Book Review]

Unclean Jobs for Women and Girls

Alissa Nutting

Book Review

uncleanjobs

‘Unclean Jobs for Women and Girls’ is a compelling and unique collection of short stories. As the title suggests, these stories are about ‘unclean jobs’ for women and girls, but not the kind of jobs that may immediately spring to mind! Honestly, I’m not entirely sure exactly how Alissa Nutting thought up half of these ideas! The women in this book have jobs that range from being cooked in a pot, to literally becoming an ant farm, and the settings are also rather diverse, and include hell and outer space! Each story is beautifully articulated to draw you straight in, and just the right length!

I often find that I lose interest in short stories very quickly, and will only read 1 or 2 at a time, but this book is a definite exception to that! I flew though it in a day – each story I finished left me hungry for the next one, and I just couldn’t wait to see where I would be taken next. My particular favourite story is ‘Ant Colony’ – The idea of drilling your bones to allow ants to live inside them is very disturbing, but I still liked that story the most (I do realise how strange that sounds!)

The stories in this book are weird and yet wonderful. I found myself laughing and cringing quite a lot! I don’t think I’ve read anything quite like it before, and that’s one of the things that stands out to me the most. I would say that this is my favourite collection of short stories, and I would not hesitate to recommend it (perhaps with a little heads-up about certain parts)! I will keep a look out for more works by Alissa Nutting in the future!

5starrating

blog71

One thought on “Unclean Jobs for Women and Girls: Alissa Nutting [Book Review]

  1. parichitasingh says:

    Wow. Even the theme of the books sounds weird. In fact this is the first time I’m hearing about this book. But five stars means, it must be quite good. Something to add to my library.

Leave a Reply

