My Favourite Authors

My Favourite Authors

*

1)    Maria Snyder.

Snyder is an author I talk about a lot. She wrote 3 of my all-time favourite trilogies (Study, Glass and Avry of Kazan). There are a number of things I particularly enjoy about Snyder’s books. The world building is fantastic – it only takes me a few pages and I feel convinced that the world is really in existence. The relationships between the characters in the books are also good. They come across as very genuine, and every interaction is believable. If you enjoy fantasy (or even if you don’t) then I highly recommend checking out any of Snyder’s books.

 

2)    J K Rowling

It’s no secret that I adore the Harry Potter books. They are more than just a series of books – they are my childhood and the stories, messages and characters mean a lot to me. But I also admire J K Rowling as a person. Despite her staying away from the limelight a lot, I feel that when she does appear or speak publicly, she comes across as very genuine and honest. I agree with her values and the messages she clearly tries to portray in her novels. ‘The Casual Vacancy’ confirmed this even more. To me, it was a novel about social prejudice and that is an issue close to my own heart and the book is very important to me.

3)    Charlaine Harris

Charlaine Harris is one of my favourite authors because I have yet to read a book of hers that I haven’t loved. The Sookie Stackhouse series is my favourite; it’s a long series with 13 books and I’ve read all but the last one (which I do plan to read). It is unusual for me to stay interested in a series that is that length. Harris’s mystery series ‘Lily Bard mysteries’ is also very enjoyable. I loved Lily as the main character and am a little sad that there are only 5 books in this series.

4)    Darren Shan

Darren Shan is in my favourite authors because of his series of children’s books known as ‘The Saga of Darren Shan’. I adored these books as a teenager – and I re-read them last summer and enjoyed them just as much! I think they are very original vampire focused books and I haven’t read anything else quite like them. I’m also reading through his ‘Demonator’ series for the first time. I’ve read the first 3 and really enjoyed them. They are aimed at teenagers, but are still nice and gruesome!

5)    Gillian Flynn

Flynn has recently become one of my favourite authors. I have enjoyed all 3 of her novels, but I appreciate her for more than just these books. Reading her books began to open my mind to a genre I have rarely investigated before – crime and psychological thriller. Since reading Gillian Flynn I have found more fantastic books in these genres and I’m grateful that she opened my mind to these.

*

blog71

Leave a Reply

