Professor Gargoyle – Charles Gilman [Book Review]

Professor Gargoyle (Lovecraft Middle School 1)

Charles Gilman 

Book Review

profgargoyle

Robert Arthur is starting Lovecraft Middle School – a new state of the art facility. But strange and creepy things are happening, the science teacher is acting oddly, there are secret passages in the library and there are rats everywhere! As Robert explores with his new friends he realises that Lovecraft Middle School is not all as it seems!

This is a middle grade book, but I decided to go ahead and read it for 3 reasons. Firstly, the lenticular over of the book seemed unusual and very cool and made me interested in finding out more about the book. Secondly, the synopsis made me think of the Goosebumps/Shivers/Fear Street books i devoured as a younger reader, and thirdly, as C S Lewis says “A children’s story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children’s story in the slightest.”

I am very glad that I did pick up this book – I enjoyed it even more than I thought I would! It was a fun (although obviously rather quick) read. The plot was perfectly paced for the intended age-range and I liked that things moved at quite a quick pace. There were a few twists near and at the end of the book which would probably be less predicable for children than for me as an adult.

As far as the “scare factor” goes I could see this being a little creepy for much younger readers – but as an adult I was not creeped out at all. Although I will admit to being a little bit shivery during the spiders scene!

I highly recommend this book for children who like scary books, and also for anyone (of any age) who loved goosebumps or just wants a quick entertaining read! I will definitely be reading the rest of the books in this series :).

5starrating

blog71

Leave a Reply

