Life of Pi – Yann Martel [Book Review]

Life of Pi

Yann Martel

Book Review

lieofpi

***

When a cargo ship sinks in the Blue Pacific, Pi is left in a lifeboat as the solitary human survivor. However, he is not alone. He is sharing his small lifeboat with a spotted hyena, a zebra with a broken leg, an orang-utan and a 450 pound Royal Bengal Tiger. This is a story of adventure and survival.

When I initially started this book I found it hard to get into the story – I felt that part 1 dragged on a little and, although interesting, it didn’t immediately grab my attention. But part 2 was absolutely fantastic! I suddenly found myself thrown into the action and excitement and I was 100% invested in the story, and Pi from that moment on. The plot line was fantastic in part 2 of the book and I found that I didn’t want to stop turning the pages. When I finished the book I actually felt like I had been on a epic journey myself!

I liked that at the end of the book, the reader is given the freedom to interpret and explain the story in their own way. I found it very surprising that the book was ended in such an open fashion but it definitely helped the book stand out in my mind, and I feel that this is one story I won’t be able to forget. I also think that giving readers such a personal way to finish the book will give it special meaning to each person, and will easily let everyone take something unique from the book.

The whole of this book is beautifully written. The words I read really made the story come alive and at times I felt like I was on the boat myself, smelling the salty seawater and listening to the moans of a Bengal Tiger.

I think that this book was a lot deeper, more religious and full of morals than I was expecting. I think you can really look deeply into the messages within the book. Religion is a huge element of the book, but it is done in a way that lets you take what you want from that – it is not pushing religious beliefs at you but almost displaying them so you can decide for yourself what you think. I personally didn’t look too deeply into this aspect of the book, but I hope that people who are perhaps more religious than myself might be able to find something really meaningful to them within the pages.

Overall, I really loved this book. The plot was fantastic and the writing even more fantastic. I highly reccommend it and I will definitely be seeing the movie adaptation when it is released on DVD!

5starrating

blog71

Leave a Reply

