Bared To You – Sylvia Day [Book Review]

Bared To You

Sylvia Day

Book Review

When Eva meets Gideon Cross, their relationship begins with fire. They are instantly attracted to each other, and Eva just can’t pull away from him. Eva and Gideon are both damaged, with demons of their own, and their highly charged, erotic relationship brings out the best and the worst in each of them.

Firstly, I would like to address the issues of similarities between this book and ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’. To be honest, I think there are a lot more differences than similarities between the books, the most predominant ones being the fact that Sylvia Day can write a lot better than E L James, and the second being the lack of BDSM. There are many others but I don’t have time to list them all. I reccommend that this book be judged on its own, regardless of your opinion on ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’. HOWEVER, if you dislike books with very explicit sexual scenes or erotic fiction then its probably best to stay away from this book (and others in the genre).

‘Bared To You’ deals with a number of sensitive issues, including rape and child abuse – with the 2 lead characters both being survivors. It added a lot of depth to Eva and Gideon and explained a lot of their actions and feelings through the book. Having both protagonists with their own issues made for an interesting twist to their romance, it would have been difficult with just 1 abuse survivor…and even more so with 2! I do not know how “true to life” their reactions to their abuse is, I imagine that every survivor deals with it in their own individual way. I didn’t get the impression that Sylvia Day was trying to suggest “the best way to cope”, she just found a way for Eva and Gideon to cope in their own, unique way.

I read this book in a day, so I definitely feel that the plot is very gripping and well paced. I really enjoyed it, and when I realised that the next instalment is not being released till October I got a bit upset!

I liked Eva as the female protagonist. She seemed quite independent, motivated and very resilient. She did not resent the people around her for her past, instead, she works hard to become ‘Eva the person’, instead of ‘Eva the victim’. Gideon is, of course, the tall, dark and mysterious rich man. He was ok, I didn’t connect with him immediately but by the end of the book I liked him a lot more. He came across as so demanding at the start of the book, but once I felt his devotion to Eva, I started to understand him a little better.

The romance between Eva and Gideon is electric and really comes to life on the pages. I felt the connection between them, and I was definitely emotionally involved in the story, along with Eva and Gideon. Sex is a huge part of their relationship and they both use it to try and mend the things that are going wrong around them. They are also so physically attracted to each other that they can barely resist each other anyway. This means that the erotic scenes in the book are frequent, but they are extremely well written and I wasn’t too fed up of them by the end of the book.

The side characters in the book were also very strong in their own right. Eva’s room mate Cary was brilliant – a likeable character from the start! He is another damaged character (he and Eva became friends in a therapy group) and I do hope that we get to see a lot more of him in the next books. Eva’s boss Mark, and his partner Steven were also great – incredibly kind, caring and funny!

Overall, this is an addictive, provocative and emotionally charged read that I could not physically put down. In fact, as soon as I finished it, I went ahead and pre-ordered the next one! I highly reccommend this for adult readers :).

4 thoughts on “Bared To You – Sylvia Day [Book Review]

  1. vanillahearts62 says:

    Erotic fiction is definitely one of those genres I just haven’t explored enough. I like this review because you talked about things in general about why a person would like a book (Character development, gripping plot, etc). I think I would like this book, so thanks for sharing!

    • turningpages90 says:

      Thanks. I think erotic fiction is difficult sometimes. It depends whether the plot fits around the saucy scenes or whether those scenes are added to enhance the story. In this instance, it is the latter. The plot line is intense, in depth and interesting even if you take the naughty bits away!

  2. rob balboni says:

    would you recomend this book for male readers or do you think it is geared to more of a womens perspective? the way you reviewed it sounds enticing to me. i love character studies and weird and wild plots and subjects.

    • turningpages90 says:

      It is written from a female perspective, and you can tell this at certain points. But I don’t think it’s an overly “girly” perspective. The narration is pretty down to earth and I think that you should give it a go. Hopefully you’ll find it interesting, and if not then at least you know you’ve tried. Happy reading! :).

Leave a Reply

