Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen [My Thoughts]

Sense and Sensibility

Jane Austen

My Thoughts

This is the story of Marianne and Elinor Dashwood – 2 sisters who are the complete opposite of each other. Marianne has an open heart and openly shows her devastation regarding John Willoughby. Elinor, on the other hand, copes stoically with her own romantic disappointment of Edward Ferris. The sister’s parallel experiences of love leads each of them on a journey to find suitable matches and happiness.

I really, really enjoyed this book. I got straight into the story after just a few pages and then devoured it extremely quickly! I liked that the book did not follow a conventional romance. One particular love interest (who I initially really liked) turned out to be a rather undesirable character, and some others who started off with less desirability turned out to be quite lovely.

I felt that Jane Austen really brought her characters to life in this book, they felt very genuine and real while I was reading the book. The background stories and the actions and intentions of each character really helps them come to life within the pages. The sisters, Marianne and Elinor are wonderful and I really loved the contrast between them. The differences helped me become really engaged in the plot. I found myself very emotionally invested in both the characters in the book, and I thought that their sisterly bond was lovely. Their love and support for each other really came across nicely!

My favourite male character was definitely Colonel Brandon. I thought he made a lovely romantic hero – he seemed very honest and real through the whole books and I kept hoping, really hoping that he would be able to marry the person that he was very affectionate towards in the book.

Jane Austen’s writing in this book is perfectly easy to follow and understand, despite the fact that it was written so long ago. The story is lovely, engaging, interesting and there are some really wonderful characters. After feeling disappointed about not enjoying Northanger Abbey I was so, so glad that I loved this book! I highly reccommend it – and I can’t wait to read the rest of her work 🙂

Leave a Reply

