The Unbecoming of Mara dyer – Michelle Hodkin [Review]

The unbecoming of Mara Dyer 

Michelle Hodkin

Book Review 

The unbecoming of Mara Dyer is a paranormal mystery YA book. Mara Dyer is in an accident that kills her three best friends but leaves her mysteriously unharmed, and she can’t remember a thing about it. Following the accident, Mara and her family move to Florida; where her family hope she will move on and stop trying to remember. Unsurprisingly the move does little to quench Mara’s hunt for what happened and things get even more confusing.

This book was actually a lot better than I thought it was going to be! It was very, very gripping – the plot was unique and engaging all the way through. I thought it was reasonably unpredictable, apart from the odd event. The mystery is really drawn out to keep you guessing, and there were a few really creepy scenes.

Michelle Hodkin wrote this book beautifully, the writing was great, characters well developed and all the settings felt very realistic. Aside from a couple of ‘cliche’ characters I liked them all. Mara was particularly amazing. I found myself completely absorbed in her mind and thoughts. Her psychotic episodes and hallucinations even left me wondering what was and wasn’t real. She was also very happy to speak her mind and came across very feisty (especially when she first meets Noah!). At first I didn’t think I would like Noah very much, but I did by the end of the book. He was surprisingly genuine and sweet. There is a lot more going on than what I expected when he was first introduced. I’m also very interested to see where Mara and Noah are (in romance terms) in the next books!

The ending of this book was amazing, unexpected and infuriating at the same time. All I wanted to do upon finishing the book was to go on and read the next one – but it is not out yet :(!

Fantastic book, highly recommended and I for one, will be eagerly anticipating the next instalment of Mara Dyer!

5/5

Check out my video Review:

Leave a Reply

