Fracture – Megan Miranda [Review]

Fracture
Megan Miranda
Book Review
*
Fracture is about Delaney Maxwell, a girl who falls through ice and is trapped under freezing water for 11 minutes. She is officially dead, but after 6 days in a coma, she wakes up. Delaney should be severely brain damaged but she wakes up with only one strange ability – she can sense when people are about to die.
*
I thought this book had a really original plot, I liked how the story developed – it didn’t go down the road I thought it would, which made it very surprising and enjoyable to read.
*
The pacing was a little “off” through the book; the beginning was very fast and exciting, which really pulls you right into the book. The middle was quite slow, and it was easy for your thoughts to begin to wander, I felt that Miranda could have done a little more with some of these points. The ending was fast again; really keeps you turning the pages. Unfortunately, it felt a little rushed and abrupt to me.
*
All the way through the book lots of questions are raised about her new ability, why she has it, what can she do with it, can she get rid of it? And so forth. When I reached the end I didn’t feel like many of these had been answered properly – I was left wanting a little more explanation!
*
Delaney was a brilliant narrating character! I like that she wasn’t particularly strong, she was real, normal and down to earth (despite the events she experiences). She had many obvious flaws, but acknowledged them and didn’t once admit guilt to them. She didn’t have the most sensible responses to many situations, but again, that fitted it well with her character. Although Delaney certainly matures in some aspects through the book, she doesn’t have some miraculous character change over the novel; again I thought this added to making her seem genuine and believable.
*
Decker was Delaney’s best friend, and the source of a love interest through the book. They’d been best friends since they were at pre-school. I loved their friendship/developing relationship. It wasn’t perfect, they argued through most of the book, but it made it real. I honestly believe that all guy and girl childhood friendships go through a transformation and get difficult in the teenage years, even if there is no romance. Decker was such a sweet character, I could see right through all the “machoness” he put on in front of their friends, and even when they were fighting his true feelings for Delaney really shone through.
*
Another character that plays a big role in this book is Troy. I thought he was a bit of a puzzle, I didn’t like him, and I think that was because I didn’t understand him, or his decisions, or his mood swings and treatment of Delaney. Although he has a large role, I was expecting him to have a bigger impact on the book as a whole, which I didn’t feel was achieved.
*
I felt like there could have been a little more depth to the characters that made up Delaney’s group of friends. They started to bring some good elements into the plot, but it wasn’t quite built up enough. The odd person in there felt like they had just been added in for good measure.
*
Overall, I thought the book was very good, the characters and the writing really helped me enjoy it. The writing in this book is beautiful, grammatically perfect and it was very lovely to read. There were many descriptive passages that were beautiful and they really showed Megan Miranda’s talent with words!
*
As I’ve mentioned before, I like the originality of the plot, although it wasn’t as supernatural or creepy like I thought it would be, although I still enjoyed it lots!
*
4/5!
*
Leave a Reply

