Game of Thrones – George R R Martin [Review]

A Game of Thrones

George RR Martin

Book Review

A Game of Thrones is the first book in the epic fantasy series ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’.

This book had 3 storylines to follow throughout, and 8 different characters narrating them.

I found that having multiple storylines to follow kept me really involved in the book, kept me on my toes and allowed there to be lots of cliffhangers within the book when the it switched from line to line. I really enjoyed this.

There are also lots of themes within the main storylines. They include adventure, action, death, love, betrayal, mystery, family, loyalty and so on. Pretty much any theme could be found somewhere within this book, which means lots of different people could enjoy the book.

I wish that there could have been more time spent on the storyline that focused on the wall with the night watch. I found that the ‘supernatural’ and ‘unknown’ element that surrounded the storyline really intriguing and I was disappointed that the book only scratched the surface on this part of the plot. I hope that the next books explore it in a lot more depth.

My favourite character was Arya Stark. She was incredibly strong, self-sufficient and strong willed. She wasn’t afraid to stand up for who she is and she wants. I liked that she felt that it was ok to be different, and that she didn’t feel that she had to conform to what everyone expected her to do – instead of dreaming of marrying a prince and becoming a princess, she wanted to learn to sword fight and hold skills of a knight. I’m looking forward to seeing what she goes on to do in the next books in the series.

Another character I really liked was Daenerys Targaryen. I felt that she was a character that really grew through the book, and went from being quite weak and just following the orders of her brother, to being quite strong and aware of who she was and who she could be. I liked how well she managed to embrace the events that happened to her, especially with her marriage into the Dothraki ‘horse warriors’ clan. Even though she was very afraid at first, she soon came to accept and even love her new husband the clans traditions.

I also found that I really liked the character of Tyrion Lannister. I found him to be very witty and funny- he had some brilliant lines throughout the book. He always seemed to be able to have a joke, even in dire situations. I also believe that, deep down, he is really good hearted, even if he doesn’t always come across this way.

I really thought all of the characters in the book were well written. I felt that they all had depth to them and the fact that they all had flaws as well as good qualities made them seem very real and believable. I definitely found that they were displayed in such a way that made it very easy to like the good guys and hate the bad guys!

I liked the larger number of narrating characters (there were 8). I felt that it allowed me to see an overall picture of what was going on and I liked that it meant that I was following numerous storylines at the same time.

When I first started reading the book I wasn’t so sure what I thought of it. There were a lot of characters, places and things happening and it took me a while to really get to grips with the book and get into it. But…once I got into the book I really loved it! I thought it was exciting, gripping, fast-paced and it kept me wanting to read more and more! It’s a long book, but I found that I got through it surprisingly quickly, and I didn’t get bored while reading it.  The ending left a lot of questions unanswered and opened up a whole new vat of ideas and mystery’s so I definitely want to check out the rest of the series.

I do want to check out the TV series of Game of Thrones. I’ve heard that it stays really true to the book, so I’m very intrigued to see how well the book translates to screen. I’ll only be watching the first season though – I don’t want to watch ahead of what I have read.

I would recommend this book to anyone that enjoys fast paced fantasy novels, epic adventures and anyone that doesn’t mind violence (there is a lot of it). I wouldn’t recommend this book to young readers because of the adult themes within…but only you can judge what themes you are comfortable with.

5/5!

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones – George R R Martin [Review]

Leave a Reply

